Texas Music Teachers Association

Texas Teaching Fellow

Established in 2006, the Texas Music Teachers Association Fellow is the single most prestigious award available for local associations in Texas to honor an individual teacher. The honoree will receive a plaque at the TMTA Conference.

The association(s) must submit the application form and contribute a minimum $1000 donation in honor of the fellow. This donation funds TMTA grants for other teachers.

Deadline: April 1 (Nomination form can be found on the Local President's Management Bar)

Past Winners

2024  Betty Mallard, Austin

2021  Margaret Miller, NCTM, Austin and East Texas 

2022  Florence Young, NCTM, Austin

2019  Janis Parrish, Pearland

2015  *Geraldine Sharpley, NCTM, Pearland

2013  Alice Welch, NCTM, Abilene

2011  *Diane Delk, NCTM Conroe

2011  *Roberta Gober, Austin

2008  Kathryn Beam

2008  Martha Hilley, NCTM, Austin

2008  Lorene Springer, NCTM, Abilene